Joy Division – “Unknown Pleasures”

The Sleeve:
105_5612 105_5613

The Liner/Sleeve Notes:
 A Factory Records Product

Personal Review:
 So, Joy Division is simply one of the greatest post punk bands of all time, and Ian Curtis was one of the most talented song writers of the 1970’s. This is his masterpiece.

 The A-Side opens with the song “Disorder” and from the opening drum solo to the guitar riffs and bass playing this song comes off an amazing track. Then Ian Curtis begins to sing and everything gets a whole lot better. This whole song is a great song, and a fantastic way to start the album. Then comes the song “Day of the Lords” and it comes off with a more darker vibe than the previous, but it is still a great track.”Candidate” comes next, and we’re keeping up with that dark vibe, and slow beats, Ian Curtis was just so talented with his song writing. “Insight” follows next, and it starts off with some noises of what can only be described as the sound of an old lift. The vocals come in, and it’s pretty great. The A-Side closes with the ever so dark “New Dawn Fades“, it is also a very deep and powerful song, and Ian Curtis delivers it amazingly with his terrifically emotionally charged vocals.

The B-Side opens with the song “She’s Lost Control” (which I also performed in my 9th grade talent show) and it’s a fantastic song, and apparently the story behind the song was Ian met a girl who also had epilepsy and wrote the song about her. Anyways, it’s one of my favorite Joy Division tracks. Then comes “Shadowplay” which is yet another favorite of mine, and also a very great track with lots of great musicianship. Then comes another favorite of mine “Wilderness” which has great lyrics, and a whole lot of drums and bass, and it’s just beyond fantastic. “Interzone” comes next, and it’s alot more fast paced, and it’s a fantastic track all around, just amazing. I absolutely love this song, and I love Joy Division. The album closes with the song “I Remember Nothing” which seems to come off with that beautifully dark vibe and sound to it. All in all it’s a great album.


Interesting Facts:

Track Listing:
A1 – Disorder
A2 – Day of the Lords
A3 – Candidate
A4 – Insight
A5 – New Dawn Fades

B1 – She’s Lost Control
B2 – Shadowplay
B3 – Wilderness
B4 – Interzone
B5 – I Remember Nothing

Factory Records

Catalog Number:

Studio Musicians & Other Album Credits:
Words & Music by Joy Division
Published by Fractured Music
Producer – Martin Hannett
Engineer – Chris Nagle
Recorded at Strawberry Studios, Stockport
Sleeve Design – Joy Division & Peter Saville

Other Albums I Own by Joy Division:


There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply




Are you human? *

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien
%d bloggers like this: