Christopher Cross – “Christopher Cross”

The Sleeve:
105_5596 105_5597

The Liner/Sleeve Notes:

Personal Review:
 So, this record is in my collection upon my moms recommendation. Basically, we were at the record store when I first started collecting and she was helping me pick records and she grabbed me two Christopher Cross records, stating that this one was one of his best.

 The Album opens with “Say You’ll Be Mine” and hey, it starts off pretty good! Christopher has a pretty great voice, and this song is pretty good. I’m actually a pretty good Yacht Rock fan. “I Really Don’t Know Anymore” comes next, and I’m enjoying this album a lot actually, it’s pretty decent, though we’re only on track two. It’s definitely a really good song. “Spinning” comes next, and I’m not sure why this song sounds so familiar, but it does. It’s a bit slower, but still delivered just as good. “Never Be the Same” comes next, and it’s absolutely fantastic, I love it! Christopher is a terrific singer. Fantastic. The guitar playing is pretty great too. The A-Side closes with the song “Poor Shirley” and it’s a bit slower, but still good, I’m really enjoying this album. It’s great! There is something about Christopher’s voice that seems to make this album so great.

 The B-Side opens with everyone’s favorite Christopher Cross song, which was also famously used in the David Spade movie, ‘Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star‘ – “Ride Like the Wind” opens the B-Side, and it is absolutely fantastic, it should be everyone’s theme song for sure, it is just that great. Christopher Cross is the true definition of Yacht Rock. No one is better. After that comes the track “The Light is On” and the instrumental at the opening is pretty different but still pretty good. We then continue onto the track “Sailing” which just has a really 80’s sounding instrumental opening, and it’s a pretty good track, really familiar sounding, but I don’t recall ever hearing it. So I’m probably wrong. All in all, it’s good. The album ends “Minstrel Gigolo” and it’s a decent track, not overly bad, it has lots of guitar playing in it, which is good. I like that.

Interesting Facts:

Track Listing:
A1 – Say You’ll Be Mine
A2 – I Really Don’t Know Anymore
A3 – Spinning
A4 – Never Be The Same
A5 – Poor Shirley

B1 – Ride Like the Wind
B2 – The Light Is On
B3 – Sailing
B4 – Minstrel Gigolo

Warner Bros. Records

Catalog Number:
CBS 3383

Studio Musicians & Other Album Credits:
Guitar & Lead Vocals – Christopher Cross
Bass – Andy Salmon
Drums – Tommy Taylor
Keyboards – Rob Meurer
Guitar – Larry Carlton, Eric Johnson & Jay Graydon
Background Vocals – Valerie Carter, Nicolette Larson, Myrna Matthews, Marty McCall, Michael McDonald, Stormie Omartian, J.D. Souther & Don Henley
Percussion – Lenny Castro & Victor Feldman
Trumpet – Chuck Findley
Saxophone – Jackie Kelso, Don Roberts & Tomas Ramirez
Trombone – Lew McCreary
Keyboards & Backing Vocals – Michael Omartian

Other Albums I Own by Christopher Cross:
Another Page


There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply




Are you human? *

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien
%d bloggers like this: